too much NPR

August 4, 2011 § Leave a comment

As my self-proposed date of departure draws nearer and nearer and the stories on Marketplace get gloomier and gloomier, my fears and second thoughts are starting to take over.  As terrified and stupid as I feel going into this headfirst, I have to keep reminding myself of a few major points.

1) It could be another decade before we really feel in the clear, monetarily (that is, if we haven’t launched ourselves into a full on Hunger Games scenario) I can’t spend my youth waiting for the market to get better in order to do something I know I want to do with my life.

2) In a few years I hope to have the added worries of planning/paying for a wedding and/or a family to support. If I’m going to leap, I should leap while I can hurt only myself.

Come on, Kai Ryssdal, tell me THAT story*, with your dulcet tones.

*j/k you could tell me you just burned down my house and I would still love you.  Pat Brogan, though, you’ll have to work a little harder. You say your name funny.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading too much NPR at it's this new thing i'm trying.

meta

