Anonymous(?) and Networking(!)

October 16, 2011 § Leave a comment

I’m a bit at a loss as to whether or not I should remain anonymous on this blog. My instinct is to keep it this way, but then I’m reluctant to talk too in-depth about what I’m doing and where I’m working for fear of outing myself, which is kind of the whole point of the thing. But if I’m totally out, maybe I’ll get in trouble for what I say here in the mind-bendingly small community that is art and entertainment.

It’s a conundrum.

I think, for the moment, I’m going to refrain from using proper nouns and see how far that gets me. If you guess who I am and which companies I’m talking about, so be it. I don’t think I’ll die. Probably, anyway. I guess we’ll see.

So now that I’ve gotten that sorted out, I can tell you my awesome news. I got a gig assisting a costume designer for a tv miniseries being shot in West Virginia.

Ahem. Excuse me, let me rephrase to show my true feelings on this subject a bit more clearly. HOLY CRAP I GOT A GIG ASSISTING A DESIGNER FOR A FREAKING TV MINISERIES OMG OMG OMG WHAT IS HAPPENING THIS IS MY LIFE.

So yeah. I’m excited. It’s basically my dream foot-in-the-door job*. And the way I came about it still makes my head spin because honestly, even three years in the business, I had my doubts about the efficacy of “networking.” Mainly because if I’m cognizant of the fact that I am at that moment supposed to be schmoozing, I suddenly become a hulking, painfully awkward nuisance who is more than likely standing creepily at the edge of a group and laughing at all the jokes but not actually introducing herself or looking anyone in the eye for more than an apologetic/also creepy glance.

That said, if I just think I’m catching up with old friends/coworkers I’m totally fine and only as awkward as usual**. So thankfully a week or so ago I remained in the latter category when I ran into a director I have worked with a few times over the past few years at the fundraiser for my show that opens in a week***. My renewed career as a freelancer came up, and I asked her to keep me in mind if she heard of any jobs floating around. That night she emailed me the post for this gig, the next day I emailed the designer in question, and the day after that she emailed me saying she would love to work with me.

And just like that, I got the best/best paying gig I’ve ever had.

This is the gig I was talking about a few posts ago when I said I had to burn every bridge I had forged this fall, and just hope that I would not be blacklisted from DC/Baltimore/DelMarVa theater****. So now I’m about to go on this wild ride and I’m not remotely ready, physically, emotionally, or spiritually. But it’s a thing that is about to happen, and I guess I’ll find out once and for all if I’m cut out for film.

*Ok well, one of them. I have a lot of dreams for a lot of jobs. I plan on living a very full and ever-changing life.
**Which is to say, mainly in realm of “funny/quirky,” and only crossing the line to inappropriate or weird in a weird way a socially acceptable number of times.
***Having trouble not advertising for this right now because I think it’s going to be AWESOME and want everyone to see it. Maybe this whole anonymity thing is the pits after all.
****So far so good. Also, four asterisks is just too many.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Anonymous(?) and Networking(!) at it's this new thing i'm trying.

meta

