Talking About Thinking About Doing Stuff

August 7, 2012 § 2 Comments

I am currently sitting here, stretching, watching the Olympics, and actively avoiding doing several somethings I should have done a week ago. I don’t know what triggers it or why I get this way, but it’s like I suddenly become allergic to whatever task I need to do, especially if it’s tardy. I can’t look at it, I can’t think about it, I certainly can’t just sit down and do it.

Ok actually I know exactly what triggers it. Whenever something is late, my brain HATES it. It’s a shameguiltspiral that I just don’t want to deal with. Which is weird because I mean, I’m late A LOT. This lateness is usually reserved for my personal life (late 90% of the time, every time) but every once and again I wait too long on a project or a promise and the due date I’ve set for myself comes and goes, and suddenly that task, no matter how small, is simply untouchable.

This is pretty much exactly what happened last week. After my eight months of insanity, I was just. So. Tired. I deserved a break! Just a couple days where I could come home after work and NOT USE MY BRAIN. Oh and how lovely that was. But then a couple days turned into two weeks and suddenly I hadn’t finished all the stuff I was supposed to two weeks ago and it was JUST TOO LATE.

I don’t know. I always get to the point where I realize I’m being ridiculous and I just sit down and do the damn 5-10 minute task, but tonight is just not that night. Maybe tomorrow morning.

Yeah, tomorrow morning sounds good. I’ll probably be a much more motivated, accomplished professional by then.

§ 2 Responses to Talking About Thinking About Doing Stuff

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Talking About Thinking About Doing Stuff at it's this new thing i'm trying.

meta

